I make this easy for you by going over which foods do and don’t contain gluten. No, bananas do not contain gluten. Fruits and vegetables in their whole form do not contain gluten.
Gluten intolerance is when your body has difficulty digesting the protein gluten typically found in wheat, barley, and rye. It can often lead to weight gain as well. You might notice you have bloating, constipation, gas, cramping, and diarrhea when you consume foods that contain gluten.
Now that you understand a little more about what gluten is and how it affects your body if you have an intolerance to it, it is time to figure out what exactly you can eat. This is a new lifestyle, so don’t treat it like something you only do when convenient. However, if you think it will be better, start gradually by slowly removing food items with gluten one by one until eventually, the majority of your diet doesn’t have it.
Remember that you have a sensitivity, not an allergy, so you can still have some gluten in small quantities. However, if you have a true allergy, such as celiac disease, like myself, then it is best to avoid all foods that contain gluten.
Foods With Gluten
Before discussing what you can eat when you have a gluten intolerance or sensitivity, it helps to understand exactly what foods are going to contain gluten. For instance, it is found in grains like wheat, rye, barley, couscous, bulgur, semolina, triticale, spelt, and many others. This means the majority of cold cuts, commercial broth and bullion, malt, soup, bread, salad dressings, sauces, condiments, processed cheese, and processed foods will have it. For example, some food items you need to get rid of or reduce considerably are:
- Condiments and salad dressings
- Canned beans
- Processed meat like hot dogs
- Non-dairy creamer
- Egg substitutes
- Granola and trail mix
- Energy bars
- Ice cream
- Fruit filling and pudding
- Cereals and bread
Fruits and Vegetables
For starters, you can begin by eating plenty of fruits and vegetables. Most fresh produce, and some frozen, is not going to contain any type of gluten and won’t upset your stomach. Some good vegetables to have are greens, broccoli, cauliflowers, Brussels sprouts, leeks, fennel, artichoke, bok choy, radishes, onions, cabbage, green beans, celery, and mushrooms. With fruits, you want to be careful about the sugar content. Try to go for fruits like tomatoes, bananas, lemons, limes, and some berries. These fruits tend to have a lower amount of sugar.
Fats and Seasonings
You don’t have to worry too much about having flavor with your food, just because you can’t have most grains. Healthy fats are a great thing to add to your gluten-free diet. This includes things such as olive oil and coconut oil, nut butter, olives, nuts, seeds, almond milk, and butter if it is organic and grass-fed. With seasonings and condiments, feel free to have anything without sugar, soy, and wheat. This means mustard, salsa, and horseradish are fine. Ketchup is unfortunately out.
As you can see, your new lifestyle will provide you with a lot of tasty, nutritious food even without having gluten.
You can read some of my other articles on celiac disease and gluten. Try reading about how gluten intolerance can cause weight gain. I also wrote a great article about who should be on a gluten-free diet.
I hope this article can be of some help with understanding foods that do and don’t contain gluten. I would love to hear if you or someone you love suffers from gluten intolerance. Let me know how challenging this has been for you or a loved one in the comments below. Connect with me @Eat_Your_Nutrition on Instagram. I love seeing your photos. #EatYourNutrition #LauraVillanueva